How to Share Location on iPhone

how_to_share_my_location_on_iphone_messages

Sharing location on you iPhone might sound too intrusive at first. Whether you’re single, in a relationship, engaged, married, or divorced, you’ll find Apple’s location sharing useful in many or in some specific situations. Based on our experience you can save yourself a number of messages you’d send otherwise. For example, you will no longer need to send message like “where are you?” or “how long until you get here?” or “are you here yet? “ or “are you still there?” Now you can see how useful this handy feature can be.

Sharing location as well as stoping sharing location can be triggered two ways – 1) through contacts or 2) through messages. Below, we described both ways in steps as well as in pictures. As long as you can find a message from a contact you want to share location with, it’s the preferred and recommended way. It is also in messages, where you’ll be able to see the whereabouts of an individual who previously shared location with you.

How to share location on iPhone (through contacts)

how_to_share_location_on_iphone_though_contacts

  1. Tap the green phone icon
  2. Tap on Contacts
  3. Find the contact you want to share your location with
  4. Tap on the contact
  5. Scroll down to tap on “share my location”
  6. Select on of the three options (based on how long you want to share location for)
    1. 1 hour
    2. 1 day
    3. Indefinitely

Alternatively, there is one more way to share location. It’s a place where you can actually see the person’s location once you’re following each other.

How to share location on iPhone (through messages)

how_to_share_my_location_on_iphone_messages

  1. Go to messages
  2. Find a message from your contact you want to share location with
  3. Select the message
  4. Tap on the (i) in the right top corner
  5. Scroll down and tap on “share my location”
  6. Select on of the three options (based on how long you want to share location for)
    1. 1 hour
    2. 1 day
    3. Indefinitely

How to stop sharing my location on iPhone (though contacts)

  1. Tap on green phone icon
  2. Tap on Contacts
  3. Find the contact you want to stop sharing location with
  4. Select the contact
  5. Scroll down to tap on “stop sharing location”

How to stop sharing my location on iPhone (though contacts)

  1. Go to messages
  2. Find a message from the contact you want to stop sharing location
  3. Select the message
  4. Tap on the (i) in the right top corner
  5. Scroll down and tap on “stop sharing my location”

 

Please not that every time you decide to start and stop sharing your location on iPhone, the other person will get a notification and will be able to see it in messages sent between you two. There is currently no way to disable these alerts.

sharing_location_notification_in_messages

Comments are closed.