Reader Daniella tried to free up storage on her Mac after finding she only had 16GB available:
I decided to delete a lot of files in my MacBook Pro. I also emptied my Trash and restarted my laptop. However, when I checked my storage after deleting files, I saw that it didn’t increase my storage but it lessened to 14.87GB. How is that possible? What happened?
This is a multifaceted problem which I’ve written about in bits and pieces before. It could be a Spotlight indexing error. Spotlight produces the information that’s used in the > About This Mac > Storage display. You can delete and re-index your Mac.