Facebook is shutting down photo sync in its mobile apps, and is asking users to try the standalone Moments app instead.

Photo sync arrived on Facebook a few years ago, letting users automatically upload photos from their phones’ camera rolls. Those photos were stored privately by default, and users could then choose which ones to share on the social network.

But on January 10, that feature will go away, TechCrunch reports. Users will have to download Moments if they want to keep syncing their photos, while existing synced photos will appear in the Moments app automatically. Facebook has started showing pop-up notifications and splash pages to alert users to the change. (Users who’d rather not switch will be able to download their synced photos in a zip file and delete them from the network.)

To read this article in full or to leave a comment, please click here